Hope and a Future…

I log onto WordPress this morning and I see that the Daily Prompt today is Hope. Do you know how stoked I was to see that? (Yes I said “stoked”. I grew up in the 90s. I also say “dude” and “cool beans” and “twinsies” instead of “twinnies”. I’m completely aware of how not cool I am.) I was so excited because that’s what my blog is about. It’s about giving hope to those parent out there whose kids are dealing with depression and anxiety. To say that you aren’t alone when you’re sitting in your car in the Sam’s Club parking lot crying out to God about why this is happening and telling Him to just take it because you can’t do it anymore. It’s about loving and thanking through the turmoil. It’s to say that you are loved and no matter what circumstances look like now, it will get better.

In my bible reading this morning I ran across this verse. And yes, I totally used my concordance to look up “hope”. Look up the word sometime and you will be amazed at how much it’s used in the bible.

“As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭71:14‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Yes Lord, I will always have hope. Even when my spirit was tired and grieved, I still had hope. And especially when my spirit was tired and grieved over everything that was going on, I praised Him because I knew He was there.

And yes, recovery is a process. I’m writing this as I sit waiting on my kid at one of her therapy sessions. Recovery for her and the family really was a team effort. First she had to want it and second we had to make a lot of changes for her welfare and the welfare of my family. But if I had lost hope. If I had allowed that or my faith to die, this process would have been immeasurably harder and I honestly don’t know if we’d be where we are right now.

So rest in hope and never forget to be thankful. Because if you lose hope and stop looking for even the smallest glimmer of good on those unbearable days, the darkness wins.

I’ll leave you with this verse. It’s one that has helped me stay focused when things are insane and it feels like there is no end to the oppression.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Leave a Reply

